Talk to the hand

Or don't talk at all, for fear that I might weep!

I had to say goodbye today. So difficult to do especially when the two grown ups in the house gave me the biggest hugs I think I have had in my adult life.

So I cried. Especially when my little brother hugged me and we cried on each other's shoulders. Something especially difficult to bear about your sibling being upset.

I cried more on the way home. Partly because I got lost because the sat nav wouldn't work and took a very scenic route via Oxted and Westerham and some very narrow country roads. However, it worked out in the end and I actually didn't lose time. I digress. Unsurprisingly!

So, this is to my brother and his amazing wife:

You will cope.
It is OK to go into another room and cry, buckets full, then compose yourself and return to the task in hand.
Do not tread lightly around them - noise is normal, play the music, talk - they already love good music, keep playing it to them. I expect them to speak song lyrics as their first words.
You will get into a routine of lack of sleep - it becomes second nature soon enough. Eventually you won't even notice...and when they become teenagers, you can sleep as long as you want.
Support each other like you have been doing and all will be well.
Your boys are wonderful and are a blessing for you both, and for us as your family. They will know more love than they could possibly imagine.
When you need help, ask for it. It requires more strength to do that than to struggle in vain.
Know that we are all with you and that you are already amazing parents. I have seen this for myself and I know that Danny and Jacob are in the best possible place, with the best possible people.

I miss you all so much already - I will be back before you know it and you won't stop me either :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.