Take Two

If you wanted to use blip as a tool for checking variations in exposure then the one blip a day rule would certainly make it a drawn out process. I sort of worked down to this point last night and started working down again from here this morning.

For the shot last night the camera was stabilised with things that were literally to hand; a survey pole and a bracket. It was thus hand held F11 at a long 1/6 of second and for obvious reasons I didn't dare go to F16 which I would have preferred with tripod assistance.

A different day at a different time; probably the brightest few seconds we had, F16 gave me 1/4 of a second but this time I stuck the wee camera on a tripod. Can you see the difference? Me neither.

I am never convinced that I can hold the camera still, even at the focal length reciprocal rule, and I constantly find myself using a bit of timber or a boulder (anything that is lying about) in conjunction with the two second timer to steady myself. Every little helps.

What I'm thinking is if you feel absolutely stuck for the want of a tripod it is amazing what you can get away with. By the way this wee camera doesn't have any nice VR assistance either.

I may have mentioned the rain yesterday. It was worse periodically today. At times the wind got up, the air chilled noticeably, it got right dark and then hail stones came on. They were hard and torrential, stinging the back of the hands before they went numb. Oh aye; and there was thunder too.

Experiment over.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.