Birds (The)

I'm supposed to be taking pictures of strangers for the Blip 'When you're a stranger' project.

Only problem is I haven't seen a stranger in days! The weather was so horrible that I barely ventured out all weekend and anyone I did see I knew. Determined to complete my mission today I even set out to the next island in search of one (although I have to confess, I was going anyway) but although I wandered ferry ports and villages and beaches I didn't see anyone I didn't know. Except for those driving in the opposite direction in their cars.

I had thought I might manage to sneak up on some poor unsuspecting soul in Kirkwall tonight and frighten them by asking if could take their photo whilst they filled their car with petrol or were purchasing interesting german biscuits at Lidl. Or even if that failed that there might be a new student at Tai Chi that I didn't know. But no, it's not to be. Sifu has hurt his thumb and medical people have been poking around inside it today so he's got to rest and not let people attack him with swords and class has been cancelled, which means I won't be going to town.

So the stranger project will have to wait another day. Or maybe even another two as I'm tied to my desk all day tomorrow and I'm very unlikely to find a stranger under there.

Meanwhile the local starlings seem to be rehearsing for an amateur production of The Birds

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.