MsQuizzical

By MsQuizzical

Nothing Like Hood's November

No sun - no moon!
No morn - no noon -
No dawn - no dusk - no proper time of day.

Not a bit of it! As I crossed town around noon I just had to stop and photograph the spire of the church of Our Lady Of Fatima. It is not the first time I have been inspired. ;) My last photo made Telegraph Pics.

The church was designed by Gerard Goalen and built in 1960. It is brutally Modernist. For me it's all about the copper-clad, plywood, needle-spire, which was installed by helicopter. On sunny days like today the verdigris spike seems to pierce the heavens. So simple, yet so symbolic. I can understand why the Chemical Brothers chose this church for the cover of their 1998 album, 'Brothers Gonna Work It Out.'

After lunch I visited Fishers Green. Note to self: Don't leave togging gear in the boot of the car whilst lunching on cold days. Couldn't shoot with my long lens owing to condensation. :(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.