And so it begins.....

As I pedalled home tonight I noticed serious activity on the site of our old school and yes, the demolition begins! The site manager saw me blipping through the fence and came over for a chat. Apparently it will all be over by Christmas and then the landscaping and sports pitches will be sorted. He asked how I felt about the building going and I told him it's an empty shell now. The people, all those staff and lots more students have moved on, or at least down the hill to our new building. It's time for it to go.

I was also asked if I had taught in these two rooms you can see in my blip. I can only recall a brief sojourn in the left hand one when I had a small sixth form group many, many moons ago, but I can remember several staff/pals who used these rooms as teaching spaces or offices. I was half hoping that there would be a lone poster on a wall but it has been comprehensively stripped out.

And for those of you who remember it, here is the mosaic from the old building, rebuilt tile by tile on the Sports Hall of the new building!

This will probably be an occasional series as the demolition progresses...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.