CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

An acer glade at Westonbirt Arboretum

I have been planning to go back to Westonbirt Arboretum for some time, so I was pleased that woodpeckers was able to join me today as the weather was perfect. The sun has been shining all morning and the wind was very light. We set off before 11am, which wasn't too bad for an autumn Sunday, and had a pretty drive during which we managed to guffaw incessantly. That was because Helena had bought an old cassette tape of the wonderful radio programme, 'I'm sorry, I haven't a clue', in its classic era with Humpfrey Lyttleton at the helm. It was the 30th Anniversary programme and lived up to my expectations. Brilliant.

So we arrived in good humour, which wasn't too put off by the massive queues of cars and then their occupants, and as members we did get into the fast lane. I suggested a route I already knew to the colourful acer glades, but getting there through all the other trees was delightful too. But there is no denying that Westonbirt is best seen out of season, as the crowds do get in the way. There were os many cameras out and sometimes ten people would all be trying at once to get specific shots of the brilliantly coloured leaves. We of course were equally to blame. Maybe I will go back in the coming week as I am able to follow my own course during the week.

We didn't stay too long and decided to go for a drink at a pub we frequent between Nailsworth and Stroud. But for my last shots, I decided to change to a wider angle lens and try some in-camera HDR, but having seen how garish they seem, I've decided not to use them. Considering it was hand held, I am reasonably pleased with the results. and at least managed to snatch a moment when the space was relatively empty of people like me. But I suppose it is surprisingly garish when you actually see these vivid colours through one's eyes, illuminated by the bright sun.


I have back-blipped a picture from our holiday in Holland, featuring Woodpeckers' brother, Ruaraidh playing his pipes !

(NB: I have changed the version of the image since I first posted it.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.