CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

The Queen Vic

I'm in a rush and seem to have been so all day. I went to finalise the details of tonight's finance committee meeting which I chair and that required quite a lot of fact checking. at the council office. Then a variety of other issues surfaced which I also have to deal with about the maintenance of the council buildings. So my time got used up rather more than I had hoped.

I managed to take a short walk in search of a blip, knowing that I wouldn't have any other time later. I ended up going down Gloucester Street which used to be the main road into and out of the town centre from the north and west before the modern ring road was created in the 1980s.

I had in mind to photograph the Queen Vic which won an award for the best business frontage in town last year. It turned out that the landlord completely off his own back decided that the exterior of the pub needed to be repaired and repainted. He raised the money and chose his own designs and then organised the whole thing. I think it is brilliant, as it has revitalised the view of the whole road as one enters the town up Gloucester Street and it makes the premises look really well cared for. It certainly used not to look as good. This view is only part of it, as I couldn't get a good angle without cars in the way which would show its old yard and the side entrance to the pub that is now used for outdoor imbibing, as well as for music events in the warmer months.

I must fly now, as I only have a few minutes to get to the meeting. So I offer three cheers for the Queen Vic and its inspired publican, whose name I will find out and add here in due course.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.