Stob Binnein and Ben More - a day to remember

Just when I thought it couldn't get better - it did and I managed to put together a panorama of the view which greeted me this morning but i felt that you wouldn't be able to see enough on the blip page, unless you were able to go large of course, so it is on the flickr page. Anyway I decided to go in for a bit more detail as the air was so clear and it is unusual to get such an enticing view of all the hills with blue sky and autumn colours. If you have looked at the panorama this shot features just to the left of centre and the blue sky and puffy clouds provided the perfect backdrop for the two Munroes (Scottish hills over 3,00'), seen left to right, Stob Binnein and Ben More.

During the walk I kept looking up at Glen Turret (the snowy peak on the right in the panorama) and wondering what the loch was looking like as, last time I had seen it, the water level was incredibly low. I gave in to temptation and set off up the narrow single track road which was very, very rutted following the recent torrents of water which had obviously come crashing down gouging out deep holes on the way. Once up there I was disappointed at there being no reflections as the stillness experienced at lower levels had changed to a slight breeze, enough to ruffle the water. Despite the very wet October the water level is still very low for this time of year but it was looking fabulous in the sunshine and with the backdrop of the clear blue sky and it nearly made it to blip so I hope I made the right decision. Today the lochside was very peaceful and I found it a very special place to be to stop and remember those who have left our sides for whatever reason, but specifically those whose lives were lost doing their duty to their country.

On my way back down I stopped at a tumbling river, with an enticing fairy pool and continued on to explore various aspects of the steep woodland beside it. I was thrilled to find these lurking in the incredibly deep leaf litter - another contender for the blip today - and filled my pockets for the grandchildren when I next see my daughter.

It was quite far on in the afternoon by the time I arrived back home and I realised I was a bit hungry - but what a fabulous day of autumn exploration. However I did feel guilty at not having done anything to tidy the garden for winter, so spent the next couple of hours doing just that and then it was time to relax and look at my photos. I hope your day was as enjoyable.

Just in case this is acceptable for the Sunday Sky challenge I have tagged it thus. After all it is not every day we have a Florida type of sky here so it is cause for celebration.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.