Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Wilsden Shadows

A slightly imromptu walk took me over to the other side of Airedale, into the home territory of a number of other blippers.

After following the river and canal along the valley bottom as far as Cottingley I cut up to Cottingley Moor and then the small summit of Norr Hill, which afforded fine views back across Airedale to my home turf of Baildon Moor.

I then descended into Wilsden and it was in the park there that I found these fine shadows. Then it was back up across a number of ill marked field paths to the western edge of the city at Allerton, before the descent and climb in the last of the afternoon sun across ancient fields to finish at Thornton, birthplace of the Brontës.

Next time I should perhaps do it the other way around, as walking south-west into a low sun was hard work at times - the only way to discern pasture from bog was to feel mud seeping around my feet.

Filed under shadow trees.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.