Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Happy Hump Day!

Yep, it's Hump Day - the middle of the work-week, as in "we're over the hump". And who better to demonstrate the carefree abandon of the passing of the hump than the nuthatch. Those zany nuthatches ... always trying to look so serious but really not fooling anyone...

Some days I like to pick the "best" shot, and other days I just want the shot that makes me laugh. Guess you can guess which one I went with today? I certainly had technically better shots to pick from, but this is the one that will make me smile every time I look at it. If you'd like to see a the six other contenders for today, including some other contenders for "funniest shot of the day", check out Flickr, HERE.

Temps were in the low 20's (F) last night and only got into the mid-30's today with a brisk breeze freaking cold WIND so my trips outside were limited and involved me being all bundled up. The upside is that the feeders and heated bird bath were very busy all day. Most interesting visitors of the day were the TWO yell0w-bellied sapsuckers, with the robins being a strong second contender. Tied for first place (and no photos to show for it- damn) was the hawk that flew about 30 feet above my hand, hotly pursued by two crows. It all happened so fast that I couldn't even raise the camera before they were gone.

Hubs is back tonight from a two-day meeting. Welcome home dinner will be grilled salmon and asparagus with black rice. I love black rice.

Thanks for sending my Titmouse portrait to the front page of Spotlight today!

Happy Hump Day, people!

Ciao,
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.