Maureen .....

..... in the market.

I've had another visit in to Leeds this afternoon to drop off a few prints that I had promised to people I've previously photographed ( it's always good to catch up and get a reaction to the photos ).

There had been a bit of an incident at the market this morning as some poor soul had threatened to throw himself off the top of the NCP car park next to the market. Most of the market traders I chatted to were less than sympathetic as it meant they had lost some business this morning with the back market having to be cordoned off.

One of the comments ....
" If he was going to jump he should have gotten on with it straight away rather than messing around for a few hours. "

Anyhow, it all ended relatively well with the chap being talked down to safety.

My market portrait today is of Maureen who runs a bric-a-brac / vintage clothing stall. I've wanted to photograph Maureen for a while but suspected she wouldn't be too keen. I was sort of right. When I asked Maureen she said

" You can as long as I don't know you're taking the picture when you take it "

That was a new one on me and we had a fun couple of minutes playing hide and seek with Maureen hiding behind a pile of clothes every time I lifted up my camera. Eventually one of the other stall holders I've previously photographed shouted over and persuaded Maureen to come out of hiding ( blip ). I showed Maureen all the shots I'd taken and she pulled various faces at some and had a wonderful husky laugh at some of the others. This was Maureen's favourite, so today's blip is .....


..... Maureen in the market.

Alternative street portrait for the day.

More Leeds Market portraits here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.