Raestelle

By Raestelle

"ANTARCTICA" ...

...I thought I'd do something different today and I know the press are covering Prince Harry whilst he'll be down in the Antarctic, not that far from here really, (not just around the corner though this time) -so here is portion of a map for you to have a look at (IN LARGE ofcourse...) as I'd say not every one would have a map of the Antarctic put away with their touring itineries..and memories of..

...I've mentioned before that John went there in 1980-81, a while ago now, but I'd say it would be just as cold and the landscape possibly would have altered quite a lot since then..John went to Casey Base which is on the Right side of this map where the large badge is..and there's John standing under the sign denoting the Antarctic Circle..the other pic is of him with the Nodwell Search and Rescue vehicle which carries everything needed for crevasse Search and Rescue..

...Now, as far as I'm aware, Prince Harry would have landed very much North of Casey Base, at the Russian Base up the top of the map, and that Base is called (as far as I know) - NOVO - which is Novolazarevskeya Base..and you may be able to get an idea of just where he shall be travelling from this map...

...The old badges you see here were from one of John's jackets..he still has some of his snow gear, including his white boots and gloves, special woollen and leather gloves and a balaclava and special leather hat, a coat..and goggles..The ship that he returned on - sadly, was sunk some years later... I have a picture from a newspaper - not a good one, of it's final moments, such a pretty little red ship it was..

...I hope you find this one interesting...


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.