like Piccadilly Circus

My Dad used to laugh when he heard country people use that expression to describe a busy place. He used to say that none of them could ever have seen Piccadilly Circus. But it was the expression that came to mind this evening when I went down to Toe Head for a quiet sunset and a few long-exposure shots.
It's unusual to see many people about at this time of year and normally I have the place to myself. This time the beach was busy with children and Dads digging up bag loads of sand. I felt a bit self conscious about setting up the tripod and waited for them to go, which they did quite soon. But then several vehicles full of people with binoculars pulled up and they stood about peering through them, which I thought was a bit strange in the now fading light.
So I decided to drive further out on to the headland and see the rapidly disappearing sunset from there instead. But then found the parking area there was full of cars and there were people wandering about everywhere.
Finally I went back to the beach. Most of the folk had gone and the others just ignored me and so I set up my tripod anyway.
I got in one long exposure shot and then the camera battery went !

I came home feeling like I shouldn't have gone out at all and then found that all the people were there because whales and dolphins had been feeding off the headland all day. And I had missed them.

One of those kind of days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.