Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Did you hear the one about the Hermit Thrush?

(Confession: I could NOT decide which photo to post today, so decided to go with the one that told the story.)

It was cold and windy today, way too cold to spend time outside so all of my pics were taken through my living room window (which conveniently overlooks the deck/Bird Bistro.) And because everything was frozen, my heated bird bath (aka The Fly-by Bar) was non-stop action all day. Lots of robins and waxwings and even a msall group of European starlings (a bird rarely seen in our yard). There were many comical moments and so many photos that deserve a funny title ... but here I am with this one.

And why this photo, you ask? (Oh, so glad you asked!)

Mid afternoon while I was in the office downloading pictures, I heard that sickening and unmistakable thud that occurs when a small soft bird hits a hard window. I looked out and say a Hermit Thrush lying on its side on the patio. While I was trying to decide my course of action, it managed to get on its feet, but then it just sat there with its beak open, a sure sign of stress. I grabbed my "bird rescue box" (yes, I keep one ready at all times, lined with paper towels and equipped with small ventilation holes) and dashed out, picked the thrush up, and put it in the box. Ran back inside with box, left in a quiet spot, then a quick call to our local bird rehab center (yes, they know me - what's your point?)

Anyway, not to drag the story out forever...after about 45 minutes, I took the box outside to the edge of the patio and opened it. The thrush looked at me for a several minutes and then just as I was about to give up and take it to the rehab facility, it hopped out of the box and flew into the woods!

I've no idea what the little guy was doing so close to our house since they don't eat seeds and usually feed in the woods. But its the second time in several weeks that I've seen one near the deck, so maybe it came for water and made a wrong turn. I didn't take any photos of it because I just can't take pictures of sick or injured creatures, but hubs took a picture of me just as I was opening the box out on the patio. If you look really, really close, you can see a small brown blob,, which is the thrush. :)

Today's shot, by the way, is a cedar waswing (left) and an American Robin, having a chat at the Fly-By Bar. I posted nine other photos starting with a berry-eating waxing HERE on Flick. Have a peek if you'd like.

I'm taking this upcoming week off - it's a short work week for those of us in the US as our Thanksgiving holiday is Thursday. Tomorrow I'm meeting up with a couple of birders for a walk through the woods to see what we can see. It is going to be a very chilly 25 F tomorrow, so not sure how long we'll last!

Thank you for the lovely comments on my little house finch yesterday!

ciao,
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.