Walking Wombat

By WalkingWombat

Newcastle

It was a revelation for me to visit Newcastle on the weekend. I have bypassed the city on so many occasions when I've been travelling north to Queensland but this weekend I had the opportunity to do some exploring.

I had a wonderful early morning walk around the foreshore and the ocean front but settled on this image of a tug boat that has just passed Nobby's Head Lighthouse after entering the harbour. The headland is a really feature of the town and the lighthouse was the third lighthouse built in NSW.

It is fantastic to see that so many of the wonderful old buildings in Newcastle have been restored. It would have been so easy to just knock them down after an earthquake damaged many of them in 1989 but through much public interest they have been successful in retaining many of them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.