samsticks

By samsticks

Wheelbarrow

Today was met with a number of conflicting emotions.

My first was a high - the adapter for my new camera arrived first thing so I'm now able to use it with my lenses. Very exciting (and check out the ISO on this shot... not bad really, considering my top end used to be ISO 400!). I haven't had time to play with the camera at all yet, but I'm looking forward to delving into the menus and getting it to work as I like (I think setting sharpness to -1 will be my first task!).

I then arrived at work and shortly got a call from Gina in tears. She'd had a call from our solicitor and apparently we weren't going to be able to settle on our new house today. Thankfully this wasn't from our end, but the vendor's solicitor hadn't sent the paperwork through in time and therefore the bank hadn't received adequate instruction. Although this means that we've got out of a week or so's interest, it's frustrating because it just seems like another thing that's against us actually getting this whole thing sorted. After a few talks with the vendor's agent I was assured that it was just a matter of time and we should be good to go at some point next week.

I also had a talk with my boss about further funding - as I've mentioned before, we've been really unlucky with grants this year. My contract is due to end at the end of December, and I still hadn't heard whether it was going to be renewed. It turns out that there's funding enough to give me 3 days a week, and there's a possible 2 other days working in another department, although I don't know what that work entails. I'm going to discuss it tomorrow and see what my options are. Looks like I'll be hitting the seek website a bit harder though - I've had enough of short term contracts, so if anyone has any ideas for me, feel free to shoot!

Miles is a real joy at the moment, and so playful - I'm not sure who has more fun: him, or us throwing him around (as you can see in this blip!)! He really helps to keep me positive at the moment.

Gina and I had already decided to go out for dinner to celebrate the settlement, and she'd packed the kitchen away ready for the move, so we still went out. Miles came too, and slept quietly whilst we had some delicious Malaysian food on Victoria.

Now it's time for an early bed to try and finally catch up on some sleep.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.