Dad's hands that make things happen

Most of this week's blips have featured Mum or been to show her things she can't easily get to any more.

These are Dad's hands. They are the hands that care for, help and enable. They are rough and calloused from gardening and workshop, get gentle and reassuring. They make much of day to day life happen in Mum and Dad's household. Perhaps the 20 meals I've left will make things a little easier.

Dad wanted me to return home with sturdy aluminum brackets to attach the pottery feature I bought yesterday to my back fence. He's finishing them here in his workshop.

And now I'm home. Another visit north complete. Of course I feel sad but mostly I feel enormously grateful and glad for the time we've had, it's been wonderful and a celebration of life.

Yesterday Mum's hands knitting

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.