Mt Herbert

A wander up Mt Herbert with my mate today.

Viewed large is best

That's the Pacific Ocean with Te Waihora (Lake Ellesmere), a large, shallow brackish coastal lake. In between the lake and ocean is Kaitorete Spit is a thin strip of land that separates the lake from the stormy waters of the Pacific Ocean.

A keen southerly was blowing and in it's most joyous gusts I had trouble standing my ground. As always up here the skies were a wonder and wind is often boisterous.

Good as always to stretch my legs and get above the mundane and enter the mystery of nature.

Today is the first Sunday in Advent. A year ago Mum was able to be at their church and lit the Hope candle. Dad said that was mentioned today which is lovely.

That's it for me, I'm determined to have an early night tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.