WHEN PIET HEIN OPENED

the curtains in the morning he exclaimed that the sky was clear.
I let my dreams sink back in the depth, drank my tea and lemon, ate my sandwitch and went to the park. I would not stay too long there, with this kind of weather a walk along the beach would do us good.
So many birds were gathered already, swimming in the water and walking on the grass. When I came back the dark clouds lingered already above the seaside.
There were many persons on the beach, cyclists too, all kind of dogs with their parents, and little kids. How soon the sky had changed, but we were lucky that it stayed dry.
We came home for coffee and then Mischa called if we were home and if she could come over for lunch, as her appointment had been cancelled.
Of course we loved her to come.
In the afternoon I watched Il Trovatore by Verdi on Brava TV and Mischa dozed on the couch where I sat.
Now it is time for preparing another meal, 'hutspot', very dutch menu, the vegan variation, prepared by Piet Hein and Mischa together.

My haiku:

Cherish those moments
Grab them by their tails hold them
Close even closer

And the proverb:

Veel handen maaken licht het werck:
Maer wensch's aen tafel niet te staerk.

Translation: Many hand make the work lightly, But do not wish too strong at the table.

The first part I have heard in my youth, the second part however was never mentioned, and the meaning is not clear to me.





Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.