'ZWARTE PIET'

The fifth of december is traditionally the feast of 'Sinterklaas', the friend of all the kids. His/her little helpers are cheerfully clothed and have their face made black.
Sinterklaas comes every year, says the saga, by boat from Spain to The Netherlands, has many presents with him/her and sweets too. Lots of sweets.
This morning when I walked out the door I saw a car with three 'Pieten' parking and I had my camera ready. I was going to the pond, see if the swan family had well survived and brought them some food.
The 'Pieten" joined a whole group of them, they all had instruments and started to play at the shopping center, a bit of singing they did as well.
They had much fun and gave little kids some sweets, I got some too.
There were two or three children as 'Zwarte Pieten' as well, they blew little flutes and one of them is my picture of today.
The swan family recognised me immediately, or do they just smell the food from far?

My haiku:

Every year they come
Sinterklaas and Pieterbazen
To cheer up or frighten

And the proverb:

Als ieder zegt, dat gij een varken zijt, dan moet gij in het kot.

Translation: If everybody says, you are a pig, then you must go in the sty.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.