Photos from a random mind

By katkatkat

Roof garden?

I don't think this is what people mean by a roof garden.

I woke up in a grumpy mood, with a headache. I then got a call from my parents and they were sadly having to cancel their trip up to see us. 10 minutes before going to work there was an almighty clatter. Looking out into the stairwell of the flats, two panes of the skylight had broken. I left The Boy putting notes through neighbours doors and I stormed off to work with my mood as black as the weather. Wind and rain battered me on my 20 minute walk and I arrived soaking wet.

My boss kindly said I could take some time to call some roofers but before I'd even got the kettle on, my mobile went. There had been another almighty clatter and the roof felt and our boiler flue had ended up in the garden. At that point my boss sent me home and I walked another 20 minutes in the pouring rain and wind. Dripping wet, in tears and really pissed off. The Boy had put buckets under the drips in our flat but there were some nasty cracks across the ceiling.

Cup of tea, dry clothes and a call to the insurers. They'll send an emergency roofer this afternoon. Call from the roofers, there's no way health and safety will allow them on the roof today, hopefully they'll be able to come tomorrow.

In the meantime we've gathered buckets, boxes, planks, lids, anything we can find to bridge the rafters and stop as much water as possible coming into our flat. The loft insulation is doing a good job of absorbing some of it but that will eventually get soaked through.

If you believe in any form of god, deity, mythical cloud monster, or controller of the weather, please ask them to keep it calm and dry over Edinburgh for the next few days!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.