Storm indeed

My pretty sunshine and high waves were only the beginning. It raged and raged all night. There were a few power cuts here but we are so well looked after. Our next door hotel did not fare so well. This photo was taken this morning, from an identical vantage point to yesterday. The sea has claimed their protective wall (but the red no swimming flag is still flying).

All our outdoor pools are out of commission until they've cleaned out the soil from the gardens and other debris. The rain has lessened (touch wood) and our guys will soon have our Paradise back to normal.

I'm not underestimating the hard work. I just know from previous situations that the Madeirans pull together and it will be business as usual very fast. That's one reason I love this place.

Yesterday, the rains and serious storm took hold in the afternoon. I went to a number of favourite vantage points to take pics. Nearly drenched by the sea a few times! And an amazing lunch in the Old Town where I teamed up with a lovely Swiss lady who is now living in Norway ( two of my other favourite countries).

The Madeiran equivalent of Strictly in the hotel in the evening. Pasha eat your heart out. Those hips!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.