She paused for a picture

This is Maria who runs a delicatessen/cafe/restaurant in Haverfordwest, Pembrokeshire.
Casa Maria is possibly the only reason to visit this county town, whose historic heart and essence were ravaged by disastrous late 20th century development and a giratory road scheme that does nothing to encourage the curious, but if you do you will be rewarded when you will find this gustatory gem lurking modestly in a side street off the main square.

Downstairs, here, where snacks and sandwiches are sold to eat in or take away, is a counterful of chorizos and hams, olives of many hues, cheeses and sweetmeats, while the shelves opposite are crammed with olive oils, turron, membillo, conserves, wines and beers, and earthenware dishes - all imported direct from Spain apart from some Welsh cheeses. Upstairs is redolent with good smells and abuzz with appreciation as Maria cooks and serves her traditional dishes: tapas, tortilla, beans, stuffed vegetables and hearty stews, all at very reasonable prices.

Talk about kitchen goddesses! Maria is the sort of ageless, timeless Mediterranean mamma you would hope and expect to find in any cucina, bodega, trattoria or bistro. She barely ceases her own gyration as she cooks, serves, encourages, explains, quips, teases and harangues her staff and her customers. She says of herself
I have lived in this country for so many years but I am happy to say I have never lost my appetite for good Spanish food. In Casa Maria I make authentic, rustic dishes, not fancy or decorative; only glorious food, cooked with love and drunk with great Spanish wine.

Strange to say I've never actually had a meal here, only coffee, since I don't enjoy solitary dining. Others don't have such qualms however as I recall from 2 years ago when I met and blipped this charming man. Ah well, in my dreams!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.