The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Getting there...

CleanSteve has blipped the field from whence the tree came. While he was dry at home, I was getting soaked on the way to work. A cloudburst of epic proportions caught me out without a hood, and I had to run for shelter to the canopy of the DSS, and find an orange Onya bag to put on my head! My trainers weren't waterproof either, and when I got to work I had to raid the PE cupboard for a pair of nylon trackie bottoms, as my everyday trousers were saturated.

The Early Years nativity play was very touching. I won't forget the sight of a member of staff pushing the donkey, which was a cardboard cut out attached to a wheelchair with a little 'Mary' in it, while also carrying 'Joseph', because he refused to walk! After work, I got some pressies for the staff at school, then realised that I would have to go somewhere else completely different to get gluten-free snacks for my manager. Then I just had time to ask about how to order the non-traditional Christmas Sea Bass, before rushing home to get ready to give a massage.

Finally, after watching Pointless and while I was in the midst of trying to prepare a giant dish of roasted root veg (mmm, healthy dinner!), we got the tree up and the decorations down from the attic, and some of the lights on.... we've sort of left it for the moment, as I want to be energy efficient with LED lights, but the ones I bought are so cheap that the cord is not long enough to put them on the tree! So, here we sit surrounded by boxes and mess, and baskets of laundry to put away, but I'm happy enough. 4 more days till the holidays!

PS I ordered some LED lights with a longer cable and a sensible number of bulbs. I am hoping they will last for years.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.