WorldLens

By worldlens

Jungle/Park/Neighborhood

I'm substitute teaching at an international school this week for one of my teammates who went back to the States for Christmas break. It's a first grade class of 16 students. Many countries are represented, including Korea, Japan, America, Libya, South Africa, and of course Thailand.

One student is going back to her home country to live, so we had a goodbye party today. The parents brought in McDonald's Happy Meals for each student. The chicken nuggets, apples, chocolate milk, and toy were a hit with every kid. I overheard one little boy saying to himself, "This is the best day of my entire life."

I'm not sure if this is a park or just the grassy area of a neighborhood condo, but it seems very inviting. I can't help but pretend that I'm heading off to teach in an exotic place as I walk by each morning. At one time, teaching in Thailand would have fallen into that category, but not so much anymore. ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.