PawsClaws n Tails outWest

By DesertP

All because of this little duck....

It was absolutely mental at work today. One of our long term patients in the zoo had deteriorated and needed to be put to sleep. Very sad but when we did the post-mortem it was very obvious that we had made the right decision to end his suffering. Spent the rest of the day racing around madly trying to catch up.

Left work nearly an hour late feeling knackered, so I decided to 'kill two birds with one stone' and walk Bonnie whilst doing a spot of bird photography. I took her to Tomato Lake Reserve, but realized when I got there that dogs were supposed to be on lead. I didn't bring it with me so just decided to walk her anyway....well here it got interesting painful... I got distracted taking photos of this gorgeous male blue billed duck, when I heard a little boy yelling out about the funny looking dog. Clearly this must have been directed at Bonnie. I've turned around to see her, panicked when I realized I didn't know where she was, yelled her name and tried to take a step forward, when I promptly fell flat on my face! No joke, my right cheek landed on a tree root and promptly swelled up. I also grazed my elbow, knee and bruised my right thigh... Talk about not having a good day!

Then I realized my camera lens was covered in dirt ..... insert profuse swearing .... when I heard a lady shouting my name. Oh crap, I realize I'm still on the ground covered in dirt and blood and Bonnie runs up to me - happy as larry! The lady asks if I'm ok. Yep, smile and nod and try to pretend I meant to spectacularly embarrasses myself... she tells me I have a very friendly dog and continues on... oh shit the camera lens!!!!

Well, I've gotten home and cleaned it all up and it looks ... ok? Only testing it out will tell :( Fingers crossed for tomorrow and in the mean time I've downed two glasses of wine and a whole packet of soft cheese and crackers to ease away my pain!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.