PawsClaws n Tails outWest

By DesertP

Busy Bees

I was quite the busy bee this morning, running around shopping and getting last minute things done before the Christmas onslaught!

Not as busy as these bees though! I was shown this amazing bee hive today, 'naturally' occurring in a little bit of bush near a lake in Fremantle. I say 'naturally' occurring because I'm pretty sure these are introduced European honey bees? I don't think our native bees make honeycomb hives like this, but Paladian or Nevermore - you could probably confirm that for me!

I wanted to get closer and try for some macro shots, but as it was I was only 2 metres away from hundreds and hundreds of bees and had them buzzing over my head and all around my face! I've never been stung before and I wasn't in the mood to find out if I'm allergic to bee stings!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.