Waterfoot Sunrise

By alasdairb

Midwinter

The morning after the shortest day of the year, this was the only colour to appear at sunrise in Carradale today. The sun was there behind the clouds, but between the two of them there was only going to be one winner today!

I had hoped that by the time I reached the far end of the beach the colours may have developed, but my hopes were to be dashed. As I turned round and headed for home I was confronted with a black sky and strengthening north westerly wind. Within seconds I was in the teeth of a heavy squall and getting peppered with sleet. It was like running up an escalator and I seemed to be going nowhere. I looked out to sea, but the little brightness there was had gone to be replaced by dark grey clouds.

The sun is now going to be heading back north, which means half the opportunities for a Waterfoot Sunrise have gone this winter. I just hope the weather improves for the second half!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.