Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

My Pet Costa's Hummingbird

Regular passer's-by through my blips will recognize my friend, Zippy.  He's been hanging around all winter.  We had a bit of a streak of cold nights, so in the morning I put out warmer sugar water for him to replace the freezing cold water he had.

So I've spoiled him, but he still wants to bite the hand that feeds him.  Not literally, of course.  He's harmless to humans.  But if you're another hummingbird and want to drop in for a sip - forget it.  He will run you out of the neighborhood.

When I sit on my patio in the morning, he will "buzz me" trying to scare me out of his territory, thinking I am a threat.  He has also buzzed Barb, my next door neighbor.  A few times, he's gotten so bold as to try to chase me away from my glass door when I've looked out through it in the morning.

He will chase other birds through the air, reminding me of Snoopy fighting the Red Baron in the cartoons.  It's very entertaining, but I do wish he'd share.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.