Life Goes On ...blipblipblip

“I hope that in this year to come, you make mistakes. Because if you are making mistakes, then you are making new things, trying new things, learning, living, pushing yourself, changing yourself, changing your world. You're doing things you've never done before, and more importantly, you're doing something. So that's my wish for you, and all of us, and my wish for myself. Make new mistakes. Make glorious, amazing mistakes. Make mistakes nobody's ever made before. Don't freeze, don't stop, don't worry that it isn't good enough, or it isn't perfect, whatever it is: art, or love, or work or family or life. Whatever it is you're scared of doing, do it. Make your mistakes, next year and forever.”

- Neil Gaiman (born 1960);


After a very quiet and solitary day it was around 4pm when I decided to don coat and set out for some fresh, if rather cold, damp, air - whereupon Elizabeth jumped into my arms and insisted on cuddles and attention before I walked out the door. It seemed appropriate therefore that she and I should be the Day One blip for this, my second Blipfoto year journal and yet the first time I think I have posted an image of myself !

Prior to this, I had spent all day roaming and a-roving Blipfoto - made so happy by those virtual friends kind enough to visit and comment on my journal on the all-important 365 entry yesterday. There is much I could say about the impact of Blipfoto one year on but none of it would be particularly original or unique - (I think the way this addiction touches our hearts is universal) - suffice to say although initially intended as a one year goal, I don't see that I could ever stop now. So, here's to the next 364 daily entries from all of us in Blipland and I thank you all, my virtual friends, for your company.

Yesterday's inbox brought confirmation from the university about accepting my dissertation topic proposal and the professor who will be my supervisor during this process which officially starts tomorrow - I am both excited and terrified !!

Happy New Year. May 2014 bring peace, health and boundless creativity.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.