Charlie...

Charlie is currently doing an MA in poetry and creative writing. Brother to Kate, brother to Luke and son of Jonny..

Yesterday, after quite some sleep, recovering from the mega New Year's gig, I just didn't go out, at all. I wrote on Facebook at 3.30 pm that it was getting dark outside, but had it ever been light??

It was lovely and bright this morning but was immersed in picture editing. By the time I dragged my backside outside, it had started to rain....again...

With no Blip and seeking human company it was a text to Charlie and the local Wetherspoons was not my idea of a perfect venue for a portrait....but cheap food and beer was on his mind, not my wants!

Here, the only lighting is from the pub's interior lights. The conversation had dried up. He started fiddling with the stick that had previously been skewered through his sandwich. He had used 5 sachets of tomato ketchup on his chips.....

I picked the camera up and slowly took a few. He didn't change his pose much and just looked back at me. Mind games? Psyching me out? I don't know, I doubt it, unless I have got Christian values completely wrong... After this one, we both simply got up and left, both going to our separate homes.

The Nikkor 50mm was used at max f1.4 aperture and focussed on the eyes. That's it, apart from some black and white work, dodging and burning in CS5.

So, from illicit loud rock and roll to the imminent clergy - he is studying for the Priesthood - and spent Christmas in Jerusalem last year), in just 16 hours...what a year 2014 is already turning out to be!

Would like to add that if you tried the video link in yesterday's and it didn't work, it's now fixed, so do try again. Thanks!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.