And here I was thinking that Christmas was over?!

Looking at the forecast last night and all the storm warnings for today, I went out at midnight, just before the Cathedral's floodlighting is switched off. Did a few test shots before the stroke of 12 so that I had the correct exposure and composition etc for the frame that mattered.

Talk about the lull before the storm! Not only surprisingly mild but calm too. I used the super-sharp Sigma EX 24-70mm f2.8 on the old D700. Look in LARGE at the tiny starbursts on the tree lights and architectural detail on the Cathedral.

This was actually going to be my back-up shot - I was still thinking of getting something much later - the classic umbrella taking-off shot etc. But I have so much action and correspondence on Facebook with the band pics from New Year's Eve and liaising with a freebie music mag wanting images and an interview that I'm afraid this one is what it'll have to be!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.