Bowood 2014 #1: Bowood Estate

Bowood House and Grounds doesn't open until April, but there are public footpaths that criss-cross other parts of the estate. I wanted to photograph Bowood in the winter, so for my first walk of 2014 I parked in the village of Sandy Lane, near to the George Inn, and walked along the path to the south end of Bowood Lake as the sun set behind me.

This was taken from the Palladian bridge at the end of the lake, on the road that emerges at the lodge house near Mile Elm. I walked along the lake heading towards Bowood House, and saw a heron and a flock of Canada geese flying overhead. The light fell quickly and it was totally dark by the time I got back to the George and Archie two hours after I'd arrived.

L.
2.1.2014

Blip #1140
Consecutive Blip #002
Day #1379

A Walk From Sandy Lane To Bowood Lake, 2 January 2014 (Flickr album)


Lenses: Pentax 12-24mm, Pentax 17-70mm, Pentax 55-300mm

Bowood 2013 series
Bowood series
Bowood 2014 (Flickr collection)

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Badly Drawn Boy - You Were Right (2013)


One year ago: Abstract

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.