Song For Saturday

By willmoran

Lights.

One of the things I enjoy about working at night is that when I leave at 10pm the car park is empty and all that surrounds it is the glow of the lights. There's something that fascinates me about lights in the dark, especially shopfronts for some reason. I've always wanted to do a series of photos of all the Takeaways at night around me,and maybe contrast the images to how they look during the daytime when they're usually closed but haven't found the courage / balls to do so since I became interested in the idea around 6 or 7 years ago! Someday, hopefully, I'll finally set off and start documenting them.

There's also something that I really enjoy about being in a pretty much empty supermarket, both as a customer and as an employee, probably as it I don't generally really like busy places all that much! At work they're advertising a job offer of a Team Leader / Supervisor in one of the areas that I work in and I think I've finally decided that I should go for it and apply. I'm pretty confident that I could do the job, and there's the fact that I still want to be a designer and try and get placements in the near future but at the end of the day I gather that it'll mean more hours than I'm on now, and so more pay, which means I can have more saved for when I finally do try and get placements and so on.

Received an email from the IMBC guys about a little party they're having for all the volunteers that helped out last year at Port Street soon. Should be pretty awesome. Last year was pretty shit in quite a few way, mainly down to my own actions to be fair, but the day helping out at IMBC, and the few I spent at Liverpool Craft Beer Expo definitely featured in the highlights of the year, is not my life even, good fun, beer and people all around! Would really recommend attending / helping out at either of them this year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.