Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Taxis

You have to marvel at jet travel. 3,500 miles in just over 6 hours. complete change of scenery, weather, temperature (21degC), driving on the other side of the road etc etc. We arrived safely and whizzed through everything in a not-so-busy-airport (Dubai airport is busy in the night, not the morning) EXCEPT we had to wait for ages for the checked bags to arrive. The taxi situation is sorted out from the summer which was a big relief. Got home in 10 minutes where our cleaner met us to help brings the bags up. What a gem.

I was shattered so got to bed asap. I just could not sleep on the plane which wasn't good as I was supposed to go to work today! Fortunately, knowing what it's like travelling back at this time of the year, I had already indicated I may take the day off. I also managed to do something I wasn't expecting or aiming for - totally unpack! Suitcase put back in the cupboard too.

Had to see how my Volvo had fared over the 2 weeks. It hasn't done well. It is a car that really needs to be driven everyday. It had trouble starting and really struggled to move! Took nearly 20 minutes before it could manage a trip round the block! Long story short, I had to take it for a drive, so headed to the garage and managed to get a technician* to test drive it. He was so unhappy with it, he wouldn't let me drive it home - so - unexpectedly, we had another taxi ride - which is what my blip is (and yes - that is Burj Khalifa). A jerky driver who may not have appreciated me taking pictures. Oh well. Should known better than to get into an (orange) Metro Taxi!

The other things we managed to do were to drop off clothes for dry cleaning, eat a Yahala shawarma, and do a fresh food shop! Not bad for a first day. What hasn't happened, and doesn't look like it will happen any time soon (not being superstitious at all) are the decorations coming down! Besides which, I suddenly remembered I am having 3 friends over for "Christmas tea" on Saturday. [We weren't able to get together pre-Christmas.]

Sorry folks, that was way more than I wanted to record but one thing that always strikes me is the ridiculous questions people here ask e.g. at the drycleaners, the man behind the counter could see I had been somewhere cold. He assumed I am British and when I told him I wasn't, he asked me if I was sure?!!! How do you answer that??

All part of the settling back in... another taxi ride tomorrow morning to work. Ugh!

* PS - I have been assured by the people at Volvo that they will look after my car with the same care that Jerome did! I SO hope so!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.