Long and Cold Light

I am posting this as a back-blip the next morning. After dinner, I took a brief romp with the dogs outside and then a sauna with Isabella. The nearly 210F degree between the temperature of the sauna (180F) and the outdoors (-29F real feel) wiped me out and I folded into bed. This weather really takes the energy out of one quite quickly.

When I awoke on Sunday morning, I vowed to get an outdoors photo despite the weather. The though of street photography was silly as few people were outside so I headed to Summit Bluff to take an image of the valley below. I have done this in the past in mono. I am not sure it is much of a photo except that I made good on my promise to not let this weather beat me back and take an outdoor image (including the use of ND plates). The sunny sky gives the false impression of warmth. Also, I do like the play of light and shadows from the vine-covered fence on the snowy garden below. Interestingly, a nearly fully charged battery soon gave out at this temperature but it was just as well because my fingertips did as well.

The weather on Tuesday morning is -21F with 35-45 MPH winds and a real feel temperature of -40F to -50F. I cannot help think about all of the homeless people in our area and the importance of giving to homeless shelters that open their doors and hearts to those in needs during weather like this.

Now, back to the grind and three hellish months of travel.

On a separate note, I did try the winter gear on Boy Dog Bravo and he was not a happy camper.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.