Delph Wynd Daily

By delphwynd

Still Summit on Dumyat

First... WOW!..

Completely blown away with the great comments on yesterday's anniversary blip, I feel completely humbled that so many of you took the time to visit and comment. A total reinforcement of some of the reasons I've stuck with it so far, and great encouragement for me to keep going. Thank you all!

Into a new century of blips so thought it'd be an opportunity to try something new. I hadn't used the 'blip before your joining date' facility up until today, but our walk up into the Ochil Hills today gave me a great opportunity to do so. This picture is an almost carbon copy of one taken over 6 years ago ago and featuring Heather too (she had real binoculars in that one, not pretend ones like in this shot)

We had a really great time together, just me and the two kids. I even managed to persuade Heather she'd like the fresh air; she didn't even use her usual stock question when asked if she wants to go with us anywhere nowadays - "What shops are there?". I'm probably a bit below optimum fitness (ok, WELL below it) so the climb did seem to be steeper than I remember and I did use the camera as an excuse to stop for a breather more than I would like. But we made it, the hard way too (the other approach from the west is a longer, less steep climb suited more for the sandshoe and T-Shirt climbers) and although the weather wasn't the clearest were treated to superb views over the Forth Valley. We could even make out the white tarpaulins on the Forth Bridge over 20 miles away.

Heading off for a long soak in a bath now to try and Radox out my aches - no problem going up, but the climb down has really buggered my knees!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.