AN EMPTY SHELL

standing upright in the sand of the beach.
Piet Hein and I cycled to the sea in the morning after he had fixed my tyre, I helped a bit.
A long walk along the almost abandoned shore, a strong wind blowing again. I liked the walk, the brisk air, the view over the green water till the horizon.
Before we returned we stayed looking for a while at the three kite-surfers who sailed up and down the lake-like part of the Zandmotor.
The gulls huddled together at the other side, undisturbed for most of the time, only once they flew up, swarmed and landed.
It is raining now in the afternoon, and I slept for half an hour before I went to feed the swan family and the odd ducks and coots.
Some shopping done, we'll have to prepare a meal. Gnocchi!
In the supermarket when I took the oatflakes, a woman saw me taking it and asked me if I knew how to prepare this. She had learned that it feeded so well and she wanted to give it a try.
I answered her that I did not know it, because I bought if for the swans, but that she probably could find the recipe at the internet. I continued to tell her that in my youth my mother made this almost every morning for us children.
Oh yes, she answered her mother had done the same back then.
The porridge was either too thick or too thin. With brown sugar and butter it tasted much better than without.

My haiku:

Big empty shell
In the sand lost, forgotten
Who wants to live there?

And the proverb:

H/Zij is zo oprecht als een hoefijzer.

Translation: H/She is as sincere as a horseshoe.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.