Our Journey is a process

By journeysprocess

The Sunset Chaser rides again!

I was feeling a bit frustrated.

We had to pick up our other car from the mechanic's and it was after 4:00 pm. The sun was quickly fading and would set over the mountains very soon. And there were some very interesting cloud formations which would make the sunset spectacular. But it looked like I was going to miss it.

My husband knew I was anxious to get away. He told me to just drop him off, then said "go chase your sunset".

But, it looked like I had missed it. So, I started to drive back home. I kept a eye on the clouds, however, and started noticing slight afterglow. I turned off and drove to a high spot - the parking lot of Home Depot. I drove to the back of the lot, and found a trail that led off to the west under the billboards paralleling the interstate.

About this time, the afterglow of the sunset was spreading in vibrant shades of pink, red and orange. I ran up the trail, trying to get out from under the powerlines and between the billboards. I realized that I couldn't avoid them.

I took an number of bracketed groups. All of them had this vivid coloring. I uploaded the shots and merged the bracketed shots using HDR Efex. I chose to upload this image without further changes. I liked how the billboard seemed to add reality to an otherwise unreal sunset.

Thank you for all of the great comments, stars and hearts for yesterday's Monorocks. I really appreciate you all so much!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.