Bamburgh Castle

Has to be viewed LARGE to see the stars (you'll struggle to see the aurora borealis)

Yesterday evening, at around 8pm, I left Cumbria and set off for the 140-mile drive to Bamburgh castle, in the hope of photographing the Northern lights, From the upper car park, the view was facing north, and the forecast was for good viewing chances between midnight and 3am.

I arrived at Bamburgh at 11pm, set up, along with a few friends including stormchasyer  and waited ....

.... and waited....

....and waited

Stormchaysers software on his ipad showed that the chances of seeing the aurora borealis were diminishing by the minute, so at 2am, we gave up and I set off on the long journey home.

Finally arrived home at 5.20 - slightly tired! But it was worth the trip - if you never try, you will never achieve. Next time I might be more lucky. I'm still pleased with the shot I managed of the castle, the stars and the drifting clouds.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.