Guinea Pig Zero

By gpzero

East On Chestnut

Chestnut Street is the local route one takes into the heart of the city, either by car, on foot, or by bus. For reasons unknown to me, it has no bike lane. I usually cycle in along a nearby route instead, or simply pedal wherever I find a clear stretch and forget the painted lines. This neighborhood is called Walnut Hill, and this is just about the top of it, where I'm standing.

We have emerged from a very cold spell that was followed by two days of rain and warmer temperatures. Today has been "unseasonably mild," which suits me just fine.

I took this picture on my way back from a cat-sitting errand. I have known the scene well for almost 25 years.

Chestnut Street in West Philadelphia, looking East from 49th Street.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.