Walking Wombat

By WalkingWombat

Cockman House - Wanneroo

It was an important day today. I took CCN out to the humble little cottage that was built by my Great Great Grandfather. James Cockman arrived in Fremantle Western Australia on the "Calista" in 1829 and married my Great Great Grandmother Mary Roper in 1830. It is quite moving to stand in the room where my Grandad, Albert (Paddy) Cockman was born. His father was James Samuel Cockman and he was one of 13 children.

His family were a hard working pioneering family who settled in the Wanneroo District and there is still much evidence of the family today.
It's a wonderful cottage that has been faithfully restored and is now heritage listed and open to the public. My Mum's cousin Eileen was there as a volunteer guide today and it was a poignant and emotional visit as Mum had passed away last Tuesday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.