The second half of life..

By twigs

Tests

Tests

The bugs lost their battle last night, with me at least. After being zzzzzzz'd and landed on about half a dozen times after lights out, desperate measures were called into action: close the bugmesh windows (and hope it doens't get too stuffy overnight) then spray bug spray through interior of van to kill any that may be inside. It worked! It wasn't too stuffy and I found about 10 or a dozen dead mozzies or sandflies in the van this morning.

There was no sign of yesterday's rain this morning :) A few clouds in the sky, but no sign of rain. If the weather map I saw yesterday is to be believed, the weather is heading up the Coast and should clear Nelson by about Wednesday - I may be tailing it all the way home!

Along this part of the Coast there are oodles of beautiful views, walks, mountains, lakes and bush. I stopped a few times to take it all in, but when I got to Fox Glacier I umm'd and ahh'd about whether I'd drive up the valley or not. Before I knew it the steering wheel had taken over and I was heading up there!

'One hour' was what the signs said it would take to walk from the car park to the end of the track which was about 200m from the face of the glacier. Hmmmmmm......could my foot handle it? I haven't done much walking at all since breaking it 6 weeks ago and whilst I haven't been wearing the moon boot (because it feels fine whilst on flat ground and only moving small distances), I really was unsnure how it would hold up against the uneven rockiness of a glacial valley floor. The only way to find out was to try though so I donned my walking shoes, packed my camera and a raincoat (just in case) and set off......

Woo hoo - my foot passed that test with flying colours! Which is more than can be said for my legs and lungs :( I had intended to do lots of walking this holiday until I broke my foot. I've known for a while that I haven't been as fit as I would like to be but this added period of gross inactivity has really taken it's toll. I'm looking forward to starting a 6 week fitness course with L when I get back, something we'd talked about when I first broke my foot :) The walk was simple enough for the most part but at the very end there's a short but steep-ish rise to a 'higher' viewing area and this is where I found out how unfit I am! The walk back down was a real challenge for my wobbly legs too. Anyway - happy to say all is good. Views were stunning (check this pic out large to see the tiny people at the base of the ice face . . . . . and these pics to put the size into some perspective!)

Now at Lake Mahinapua - a place I've stayed at before and enjoyed so thought I'd repeat.

Last real day of holiday tomorrow before heading back to Nelson for a hospital appointment on Wednesday then work on Thursday :(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.