0804 to Leeds

By ZMT

"If the kids don't reach their targets, then my pay can be compromised. It's tough, even in Primary"

It has been a busy day and I've accomplished a few things off my list which I'm happy about. I was hoping the weather was going to be kinder today as it's really not nice being out searching for portraits in this bitter wet cold. Thankfully, it was, only just.

I made my usual route to the city and passed by the Corn Exchange as I normally do and spotted Lisa stood outside with her headphones on. I could only see the back of her as I approached so I took a chance and caught her gaze as I came around.

She took her headphones off immediately, which is always a good sign, and she said she'd be happy to be part of the project. I liked the pose she gave me in this photo, with her right leg crossed and on toes.

Lisa is just about to finish her course, and will be undertaking the daunting task (her words) of starting to teach primary school in September. I asked her what the hardest thing about the job was going to be:

"You probably won't believe it, but the preparation, planning, keeping up with the curriculum, meeting targets. Think all those types of things will be really difficult"

I have a lot of respect for teachers, it's an incredibly tough job and good luck to anyone going into it. Lisa seemed to have a good grasp on what was expected of her though, we chatted a bit more about how she decided on teaching and what she was hoping to get out of it - the usual stuff really. I wished her the best of luck with her future role, and we said our goodbyes before I carried on my walk.

Have a fantastic weekend whatever you're up to. I'm hoping for some snow as I'd like to shoot some snowy scapes :)


Humans of Leeds

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.