0804 to Leeds

By ZMT

“I’m waiting for my daughter, she’s late, she’s always late. I tell her off about it all the time, but what can you do…?”

There are two types of people in this world - people who are always on time, and others who are always late. Unfortunately, for Chris here it was the latter when it came to his daughter.

I spotted him, sat in front of the Art Gallery, looking far off into the distance. It was one of those moments where I wish I had captured him there and then, he had the most amazing gaze going on. I went and sat next to him, and asked him for a portrait,

“Yes, that’s fine but you gotta help me out please. I need to ring my daughter, I’ve been sat here for hours, I need to contact her but I don’t have a phone”

How could I say no? I punched in the numbers he gave me (which he had written down on a scrappy piece of paper), put the phone on loudspeaker and handed it over. I was a little worried at this point that a complete stranger was now in possession of my expensive phone so I stood alert and close.

I needn’t have worried however, it was a genuine call to his daughter who didn’t seem to have any concerns regarding her father being kept waiting for hours, and said she’d be there in 10 minutes.

Afterwards, I told Chris how I liked the look he had when I came upon him and asked what he was thinking about. He took his time in answering, looking away again, and then replied slowly, “I’d rather not say”.


Humans of Leeds

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.