(Photo of ) A Portrait

Wanted to get out of the house today for a change of scene. As it was a nasty rainy day I decided to go to the Metrocentre indoor shopping centre. I spent 3 hours there so I guess I burned a few calories walking around. Got a few things in the M & S Sale to put away for Christmas. Also a lovely cardigan for myself from T K Maxx. Back home at 6.30pm for an evening of TV.

No football for me this weekend as Newcastle are out of the Cup but Neil went to see the match between Sunderland and Kidderminster. He got to know a few lads from Kidderminster when they all lived in Melbourne and they came North today with tickets for the match - including one for Neil. Unfortunately Kidderminster were beaten.

Today's Forum challenge today is a portrait. No chance to get a shot of Neil this morning as he dashed out of the house early. So I decided to take a shot of this photograph - a portrait of my late husband Douglas. I think I have blipped this photo before but it must have been some time ag0.

Douglas joined the Palestine Police as a 17 year old and after training was stationed in Lydda (which is now called Lod ). I remember him telling me that he had gone to Jaffa (now part of Tel Aviv ) one day and took the opportunity to go into a photographers studio to get this professional photograph taken so he could send it back home to his Mother in London. The date stamped on the back is 21 Dec. 1947 and Douglas has written on it " Best Wishes for 1948". Luckily his Mother kept the photo and Douglas found it after she had passed on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.