Stark Raving Cold

My family in NY would scoff at such a description of today's chill. The temps here are still substantially milder than state-side. But there was a noticeable bite to the air tonight and my arthritic joints are screaming in protest to my river-side walks.

Had hoped to accomplish more than I did today. Ended up taxiing kids about town more than planned.

But two great things did happen:

1. I tested a gluten-free crepe recipe that completely astounded me. I've really resented my new intolerance to wheat and am largely disappointed by most bread-substitutes. But the rice/potato flour my Norwegian daughter recently bought for me made incredible, tender, tasty crepes! I suspect I might be able to re-incorporate pancakes into our special weekend treats menu now that I've discovered this.

2. I also found a delicious potato vodka in my local Getränkemarkt. I was always a huge fan of Chopin, but I've not found it in the stores near me in Mülheim. I'm a bit of a vodka snob, so I was really surprised to find that the reasonably-priced Polish Luksusowa is so smooth and sweet. I was not familiar with this brand when I lived in the US, but it's skipping toward the top of my favorites list.

Amazing how good food & drink can improve a mediocre weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.