Our Journey is a process

By journeysprocess

HELP!

No, I'm not sick. And, no, I haven't lost my mind, although you might think so with me posting this photo.

But, what I do need is your help. My Dolica tripod just died. Thankfully, my wonderful husband bought it at Costco, and it can be returned.

So, I need to buy a new tripod as soon as possible. I went down to my local photo shop and they were not at all helpful. They wanted to sell me a tripod that didn't even support the weight of my camera and lens . . . "but it is such a good buy!" Good-bye!

Anyway, I need a tripod and tripod head that can support at least 4-4.5 lbs (2kg). As you can see from most of my photos, I use a tripod mostly for landscape, some macro and some portraits. The legs have to be sturdy, light weight and small, since I will be hiking and traveling with it. The head must be able to firmly hold my camera and lens, but I also don't have the hand strength to really crank down on the knobs. I've only used a ball head, but I've also heard that 3-ways (pan-tilt) are good for landscapes. And my budget is limited right now to around $400.

This is an essential part of my kit. So,I need HELP! Rather than open it up to the Forum, I thought I would ask my faithful blip-buddies what you would recommend.

What do you use (likes and dislikes), and what would you recommend?


Thank you so much! I do appreciate your thoughts, comments, ideas, recommendations, etc. And thank you for your great comments on yesterday's shot of Joseph and his suit!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.