Desperately seeking

By clickychick

32 Years Ago...

... we moved house!

I should have been doing some sorting to make life easier for The Man after he has had his hip-op next week but after a last minute trip to the accountant with signed forms,( Pheww!) I got sidetracked by thoughts of claiming my pension.

I hoped I'd find a 40 year old pay slip! What I did find pleased me almost as much - the diary I kept after the birth of #1 Daughter. I searched everywhere for this while she was pregnant, wanting to share my worries and delights of parenthood.

"We moved house today. Fortunately Rachel slept in her carrycot most of the day."

Yes, we moved to a bigger house when ArkaneSpark was 3 weeks old! Crazy! But family and friends helped, we didn't need a removal firm, we were only going round the corner. My good friend Jaquie made sure that Rachel and I got round to the new house first thing, with nothing to do but point to where boxes had to go.

I looked out some photos taken shortly afterwards to add to the history. Gosh! I'm so glad I got photos of that chimney breast, it would have been hard to believe anyone would decorate a house like that. No wonder it had been on the market so long!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.