Mournful angel

Well I blame my friend Finola - she's as bad as me when it comes to a ruin or interesting antiquity. She and Robert had had a day out and had gone exploring, passing this cottage. They had boldy ventured in and goodies were to be found. Irresistable. I knew the cottage but suspected it might have been inhabited. It was not - rather sadly all the possessions of the former occupants were piled up damply outside the old scullery door - which was ajar! I squeezed in. A perfectly nice and perfectly ordinary farm worker's cottage - unexceptional except for the decor. The walls had paintings of strange beasts and winged angels; the fireplaces had Celtic motifs - all borrowed from the Book of Kells and all done extremely well. I rather liked this mournful angel clutching his red book and mansuscript, plus flamboyant wings.
I've spent about half an hour faffing about trying to decided which pic to put up - do check out the fireplace here which I also like.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.